In Uniform zur Schule: Daniela in Irland

fazio1.jpg
me in school uniform in front of my college

Seit drei Monaten befindet sich Daniela De Fazio (4 A-EU) als Austauschschülerin in Irland. Aus der kleinen Stadt Carlow haben wir eine Grußkarte erhalten.
irland-karte.gif HI HOB-ler

It's me, Daniela, usually a HOB student, but for this year I'm not. Now I am an Irish student, almost an Irish girl.
You wonder how I got here? I was told that everyone of us has the possibility to spend a year abroad and I liked the idea to do a year in a foreign country, with new people to go to school with, and a completely different school system, to have the possibility to improve my English. So I got informed well about all the necessary stuff and I decided to try it. I had the chance to get a scholarship offered by our region Trentino-Südtirol.
In February I had to enrol and in March and April I had to take two exams, an oral and a written one. I passed both of them and now I'm here in Ireland. I live in Carlow, a small town in the south-east of Ireland, about an hour from Dublin, the capital. I came over in August and am going to stay here up to the end of June, because I'm doing my leaving certificate (Matura) here.

carlow.jpg
Carlow Castle
  First of all I'd like to introduce the Irish school system. I go to school from Monday to Friday, every day from 9.00 am to 3.45 pm. School here is completely different. I have to wear a school uniform, so everyone knows to which school you're going. During school you change room after every class, not as in Italy where the teachers do this. You can choose your subjects and decide on your own if you want to take five or more subjects. I think these are the most important things to know about the system here.